Handcross Park School
PUBLISHED: 12:59 04 February 2014 | UPDATED: 15:33 21 May 2015
Handcross Park School successfully combines the happy blend of tradition with a forward-thinking education.
With origins dating back to 1887, the school was originally known as Newells Preparatory School and was located in near-by Lower Beeding.
Formerly a boys’ boarding school the school became a co-educational establishment in the early 70s and later converted to a day school offering weekly and full boarding.
The school provides a broad range of opportunities for all children from 2 to 13 years within a stimulating, structured and flexible environment. Pupils are offered a variety of activities both in and out of the classroom. They are encouraged to think for themselves and develop their own particular interests and talents. They are also taught to respect one another and live and work together in an harmonious environment.
On driving through the gates visitors find themselves in 50 acres of stunning Sussex parkland. Around the grounds are a range of sports fields which cater for football, athletics, netball, tennis, rugby, cricket, cross-country, hockey, rounders and golf. There is also a fun adventure playground with a variety of play equipment, including a zip wire. The remainder of the estate is laid to superb gardens which are bursting with colour in the spring and summer months.